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Question No: 01
Question For: Race Committee

Question:
I can't understand the reason why disqualified a ship on rule 42.3d

Answer:
The jury observed at the start of race F7 FRA 7491 repeatedly sculling
in both directions and therefore breaking RRS 42.2(d). The boat was
penalized according to RRS P1.2.

In racingrulesofsailing.com, there is a mistake in the online system. It
gives the wrong rule number for this breach. The online system should
therefore state "42.2(d)" and not "42.3(d)". We cannot change this
mistake as it is intrinsic to the online system.

The disqualification was in accordance with P2.1 as the boat failed to

take the One-Turn-Penalty in accordance with RRS 44.2.

The boat started the penalty on starboard tack, gybed and then continued
to sail on port tack for 5-6 boat lengths and then tacked. There was no
reason to delay the tack, as no boats were hindering the boat to tack as
soon as reasonable possible.

RRS 44.2 states "After getting well clear of other boats as soon after
the incident as possible, a boat takes a One-Turn or Two-Turns Penalty
by promptly

making the required number of turns in the same direction, each turn
including one tack and one gybe."

The last missing tack was not taken promptly as required by the rule.
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