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Ilca Youth Easter Meeting

Scoring Inquiry

Request No.: 50
Course: 1
Race No.: 3
Posted Score: Dne
Competitor: ILCA 4 - SUI 200507 - Cyril Burmeister

Scoring Inquiry:
I affirm that my number was not displayed on the committee, so I ask to be classified bfd
as mentioned in case 96 in case book Facts for Question 1 The race committee displayed
the black flag as the preparatory signal for the start of a class. Boat A’s hull was identified
in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting line and the first mark during the last
minute before her starting signal. After the starting signal, the race committee signalled a
general recall. The race committee disqualified A without a hearing for breaking rule 30.4,
and displayed her sail number before the next warning signal for the race. Question 1 If A
believes that the race committee made a mistake when it identified her in the triangle
during the last minute, do the rules permit her to sail in the race when it is restarted and
then request redress? Answer 1 Rule 30.4 clearly requires A not to sail in the restarted
race and states that her disqualification will become non-excludable if she does. Her only
remedy is to request redress, which, if given in a series, would normally be based on her
results in other races. Facts for Question 2 The facts are the same as for Question 1
except that the race committee failed to display A’s sail number before the next warning
signal for the race, and A sailed in the race when it was restarted. Question 2 Is A entitled
to a finishing place? Answer 2 No. A should be disqualified as required by the second
sentence of rule 30.4. However, because the race committee erred by not displaying her
sail number between the general recall and the next warning signal for the race, she
should be scored BFD (Disqualification under rule 30.4), and not DNE (Disqualification that
is not excludable). If she requests redress claiming that she is entitled to a finishing place
because the race committee erred by not displaying her sail number, her request should
be denied. While not displaying her sail number is an improper omission by the race
committee, it is not the omission that deprived her of her finishing place, but the fact that
she had been on the course side of the starting line in the minute before her starting
signal. However, if she was scored DNE, redress should be granted to the extent of
changing her score to BFD. Thanks to consider it.



Response By Luigi Chincarini Printed at 2025-08-26
04:49

Witnesses:
Sui 221833

Response:
You submitted a Scoring Inquiry, not a Request for Redress. The RC, as already stated in
Request n. 42 confirms of having your sail number on the BFD board that has been
displayed on the RC vessel. If you wanted to ask for a Redress you would have needed to
submit a Request for Redress.
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