Case 97
Rule 55.3, Setting and Sheeting Sails: Sheeting Sails
The use of a jockey pole attached to a spinnaker guy is permitted.
Question
Is the use of a jockey pole (a pole that exerts outward pressure on the line that controls the fore and aft position of a spinnaker pole) permitted under rule 55.3?

Answer
Yes. When a spinnaker pole is set, the line that controls the fore and aft position of that pole is a guy, not a sheet. A jockey pole putting outward pressure on a guy is therefore not a ‘device that exerts outward pressure on a sheet or clew of a sail’.

GBR 2000/2
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more