Forum: Rule 18 and Room at the Mark

2025 RRS 18.3 Tacking in the zone

P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
 RRS 18.3 Tacking in the zone 

Here’s the 2025 rule 

18.3 Tacking in the Zone 

If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone of a mark to be left to port, rule 18.2 does not apply between her and another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the boat that passed head to wind 

(a) shall not cause the other boat to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact, and 

(b) shall give mark-room if the other boat becomes overlapped inside her. 

RRS 18.3 has been somewhat re-arranged, but there is no change in the most common case where another boat has tacked onto starboard outside the zone and is fetching the mark. 

The test of ‘fetching the mark’ is now no longer applied to the tacking boat, but is applied to the other boat.  This makes little difference:  it was always to be presumed that if the tacking boat was fetching the mark, the other boat would also be fetching the mark.

EDIT:  Putting the test of fetching the mark on the other boat closes off the opportunity for a tacking boat that has caused the other boat to sail above close hauled to just be miraculously unable to make the mark, so not 'fetching the mark', and not breaking 2021 RRS 18.3.

The rule is now to be applied in two steps: 

1.      Whether the other boat is on starboard tack and fetching the mark, in which case RRS 18.2 does not apply, and 
2.      Whether the other boat has been fetching the mark since entering the zone, in which case the tacking boat is required to: 
(a)    not cause her to sail above close hauled to avoid contact, or 
(b)   if overlapped outside her, to give her mark-room. 

What has changed as a result of this two step application is the situation where two boats tack in the zone.  Where two boats both in the zone on port tack, needing to tack to round the mark to port, when either of them tacks onto starboard, and the other boat then tacks onto starboard and is fetching the mark, RRS 18.2 will not apply, but because the second boat has not been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the obligations in RRS 18.3(a) and (b) will not apply, so no boat is entitled to mark-room and only the right of way and room to keep clear rules apply. 
Created: 24-Oct-10 21:44

Comments

P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
I think the trigor may have changed and be hard to spot.  We now have to check when the boat passes head to wind, the completion of the tack is not necessary. Mike b
Created: 24-Oct-11 11:06
Murray Cummings
1
Previously, when one boat tacked from port to starboard inside the zone and the other boat then passed head to wind from port to starboard and was overlapped to leeward, the leeward boat would be exonerated from rule 13 infringement as she was sailing within her  mark room.  This is no longer the case.
Created: 24-Oct-11 12:30
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
0
Mike and Murray,  I think you might have in mind versions of the rule before 2021.
Created: 24-Oct-11 14:03
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
If I'm not mistaken, in the past, this only applied if the starboard boat had been fetching since before the zone?

Does 18.3 apply between boats Green (just crossing HTW) and Magenta (already on starboard but not yet close-hauled) in the image below? I'd argue yes, Magenta is on starboard and fetching. She did tack inside the zone, so the second half does not apply.

Assuming 18.3 applies, then 18.2 doesn't, so what happens if Magenta becomes overlapped inside? She is leeward, but owes room and opportunity (RRS 15 & 16), and is not entitled to room???

image.png 21.4 KB
Created: 24-Oct-11 17:27
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Niko, I think John's right in his approach and the rule is more straight forward.

You are a boat on port and you just passed head to wind ... if there is any other boat on starboard fetching the mark (inside or outside of the zone when you pass HTW), 18.2 does not apply between you. 

I have to admit, when I first read this my mind played a trick on me when thinking about 2 boats on port tacking in the zone and passing HTW exactly at the same time, but that singularity doesn't create an issue (after a gentle offline head-slap by an experienced judge knocked me back to my senses) .  In all cases .. if the windward tacks first, leeward first or simultaneously, there is always a boat on stb when the other passes HTW. 

Prior to passing HTW, the windward boat was entitled to MR, but MR no longer includes "room to tack".   Normally such a boat would necessary sail past the mark to the stb layline. The question will remain to be answered whether or not windward's MR will include room for her stern to swing as she turns to HTW on the stb layline, after sailing past the mark .. as part of her room to "sail to the mark".  

Acknowledging that windward's windward course "to the mark" requires a tack .. and the first component of that tack is sailing up to HTW .. I can see the argument that it does (and thus the old MR language about "room to tack" is unnecessary). 
Created: 24-Oct-12 13:22
Richard Jones
0
I think when they are both on port inside has mark room including  "to round or pass the mark on the required side" so this should include room for her stern to swing until she passes HTW. Then her mark room ends and R13 applies. It does seem to leave a gap as her stern will need to swing further possibly breaking R13 with no exoneration.
Created: 24-Oct-12 19:16
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
0
Additional to the OP

Putting the test of fetching the mark on the other boat closes off the opportunity for a tacking boat that has caused the other boat to sail above close hauled to just be miraculously unable to make the mark, so not 'fetching the mark', and not breaking 2021 RRS 18.3.
Created: 24-Oct-12 22:11
Nick Taylor
0
In my opinion 

Two port tack boats in the zone need to tack to round the mark to port. I am Just follow the mark room rules though here. 

1 Two boats enter the zone on port. 18.2a  ON

2 IF Boat entitled to make-room passes head to wind, 18.2a OFF by rule 18.2b and 18.1A(1) ON All of rule 18 is OFF.  Rule 10 ON. 
OR 
  IF other boat tacks 18.2a OFF and 18.1A(1) ON All of rule 18 is OFF.  SAME RESULT  Rule 10 ON. 
3 Other boat tacks in the zone 18.1A(1) OFF = Rule 18 is back on as 18.2(C) ON.

"18.2(c) When rule 18.2(a) does not apply and the boats are overlapped,the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room.”

So the result after both boats have tacked from port to starboard the inside boat has the Mark Room.  

You could add in the other right of rules 13/15/16 depending how close the tacking was but the questions are about Mark Room.  

   
Created: 24-Oct-14 04:11
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
1
Nick ... in the 2025 quad, when the 2nd boat passes HTW in the zone, the 1st boat to pass HTW is already on STB fetching the mark (even if they pass HTW at the same time), therefore 18.3 applies and 18.2 does not.  Neither boat entered on stb, therefore 18.3(b) doesn't apply.  No MR for the inside boat. 
Created: 24-Oct-14 11:29
Nick Taylor
0
Angelo ....
I fail to understand what your saying. 
18.3 is never ON so how can "therefore 18.3 applies and 18.2 does not"?   

18.3 Tacking in the Zone
"If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone
of a mark to be left to port, rule 18.2 does not apply between her and
another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other
boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the boat that
passed head to wind"



 
Created: 24-Oct-14 18:29
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
0
NIck, let's step through the scenario you have described

 
Two port tack boats in the zone need to tack to round the mark to port. I am Just follow the mark room rules though here. 

1 Two boats enter the zone on port. 18.2a  ON

Agreed

2 IF Boat entitled to make-room passes head to wind, 18.2a OFF by rule 18.2b and 18.1A(1) ON All of rule 18 is OFF.

Agreed

  Rule 10 ON.

It will initially be RRS 13, but no matter.

 
OR 
  IF other boat tacks 18.2a OFF and 18.1A(1) ON All of rule 18 is OFF.  SAME RESULT 

Agreed

Rule 10 ON.

Again, initially RRS 13, but no matter.

3 Other boat tacks in the zone 18.1A(1) OFF = Rule 18 is back on

Agreed

 as 18.2(C) ON.

Do not agree.

18.3 Tacking in the Zone
"If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone
of a mark to be left to port,
rule 18.2 does not apply between her and
another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other
boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the boat that
passed head to wind"

The second boat has passed head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone of a mark to be left to port

That's the applicability condition of RRS 18.3, stated in the first clause of the rule, bolded above.

Therefore:  rule 18.2 does not apply to her and another boat on starboard tack (that is the first boat that tacked) that is fetching the mark.  This assumes that the boat that first tacked is indeed fetching.  If not, then you are right, RRS 18.3 won't apply and RRS 18.2(c) will.

"18.2(c) When rule 18.2(a) does not apply and the boats are overlapped,the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room.”

Only if the first boat to tack is not fetching the mark.

So the result after both boats have tacked from port to starboard the inside boat has the Mark Room.  

No, there are alternatives:
  • If the first boat to tack was fetching the mark, RRS 18.2 is disapplied by RRS 18.3, but the obligations of RRS 18.3(a) and (b) do not apply because neither boat was on starboard tack since entering the zone:  no entitlements or obligations under RRS 18 apply.
  • If the first boat to tack was not fetching the mark, RRS 18.3 is not engaged and RRS 18.2(c) applies to require whichever boat is overlapped outside to give mark-room.
Created: 24-Oct-14 20:37
Nick Taylor
0
Thanks john...
How i am reading the 18.3 there are 2 conditions that must be True for 18.3 to be on thus turn off 18.2.

18.3 Tacking in the Zone
"If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone
of a mark to be left to port,
rule 18.2 does not apply between her and
another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other
boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the boat that
passed head to wind"


As the both boats enter the zone on port the second condition was always False thus 18.3 IS OFF rule 18.2 ON.  

Your thoughts thanks 
 
Created: 24-Oct-14 21:34
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
1
Nick, You have got your second condition wrong.

There are THREE conditions in RRS 18.3
  1. A boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone of a mark to be left to port;
  2. Another boat is on starboard tack and fetching the mark;  and
  3. The other boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone.

As I said in my OP
 
The rule is now to be applied in two steps: 

1.      Whether the other boat is on starboard tack and fetching the mark, in which case RRS 18.2 does not apply, and 
2.      Whether the other boat has been fetching the mark since entering the zone, in which case the tacking boat is required to: 
(a)    not cause her to sail above close hauled to avoid contact, or 
(b)   if overlapped outside her, to give her mark-room. 

Conditions 1 and 2 are the conditions that switch on RRS 18.3 and switch off RRS 18.2

If Conditions 1 and 2 apply and Condition 3 also applies then the obligations of RRS 18.3(a) and (b) apply, otherwise they do not.
Created: 24-Oct-14 22:14
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
Angelo, I'm not sure you answered either of my questions, though I agree with everything you said in https://www.racingrulesofsailing.org/posts/3018-2025-rrs-18-3-tacking-in-the-zone#comment_15154

Q1: Can anyone confirm that a boat just past head-to-wind (not yet close-hauled and still subject to rule 13) is considered "on starboard tack" for the purposes of this rule?
Seems like it would be, but I want to be sure before I teach it to 200+ other racers.
Created: 24-Oct-16 14:33
Mark Townsend
Certifications:
  • International Race Officer
  • International Umpire
  • International Judge
1
Definition of Tack

Tack, Starboard or Port A boat is on the tack, starboard or port, corresponding to her windward side.
Created: 24-Oct-16 14:38
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
thank you
Created: 24-Oct-16 15:08
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
Regarding the new rules:
Q2:  I added info to the diagram... lemme know if I should make a separate thread for this.
  1. Magenta (M) tacks inside zone (position 1.6ish)
  2. Teal (T) also tacks inside zone (pos 2)
  3. M had a better tack and becomes overlapped inside/to leeward of T (pos 3)

My understanding is that:
  • Because T tacked inside zone and M was already on starboard, 18.2 does NOT apply between them
  • Because M also tacked inside the zone, the 2nd part of 18.3* does not apply between them.
*Whether the other boat has been fetching the mark since entering the zone, in which case the tacking boat is required to: 
(a)    not cause her to sail above close hauled to avoid contact, or 
(b)   if overlapped outside her, to give her mark-room. 
  • At position 3, their only relationship is windward/leeward with 15 and 16 active, right?
  • Anything I'm missing with that last point? There's no mark-room at all, right?
  • If M feels she cannot comply with both 15/16 and 31, should she "bail" by gybing around to avoid a foul?
    image.png 36 KB
Created: 24-Oct-16 15:40
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
1
 Mark Townsend said Tack, Starboard or Port A boat is on the tack, starboard or port, corresponding to her windward side. 

The Definition Leeward and Windward A boat’s leeward side is the side that is or, when she is head to wind, was away from the wind.

is also relevant.

A boat is ALWAYS on either port or starboard tack.
Created: 24-Oct-16 20:53
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
1
NIko, Your post of  Today 15:40  is exactly right.

But Magenta has other tactical options besides gybing away:
  • she can fall behind Green, either by dwelling in her tack, or by easing sheets and slowing, and follow Green around;
  • Once overlapped on Green, and having initially given Green room to keep clear, she can stand on a steady course and drive Green past the mark before gybing inside her.
Created: 24-Oct-16 20:56
Bob Scott
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
If the "other boat" is on starboard and fetching the mark, but outside the zone, is that sufficient to turn off 18.2?  I think "yes"...

But, "the other boat" must be on starboard and in the zone in order to turn on 18.3 if either (a) or (b) apply?

What if "the other boat" is on starboard in the zone but she was but is no longer "fetching the mark"?  What then?

Created: 24-Nov-29 22:02
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
0
Bob Scott,  like this?
 
image.png 62.3 KB




Y initially fetching the mark on starboard.

B slam dunks Y, and keeps clear and from @4, Y cannot hold her lane and falls below the layline, cannot pinch up in the dirty air, and is no longer fetching.

Good Question.

@2.5 B passes head to wind from port to starboard in the zone and Y is fetching the mark:  RRS does not apply between B and Y (RRS 18.3 first sentence.)

@ 3-delta Y, on starboard tack reaches the zone:  the obligations of RRS 18.3(a) and (b) will apply to B (RRS 18.3 second sentence), but Y is not yet overlapped inside B so B is not yet required to give Y mark-room.

@3.5 Y becomes overlapped inside B so B is required to give Y mark-room, to sail to the mark.  If, at this point, Y had luffed up, but not above her course to the mark, and closed the gap, Y would be required to respond, both to keep clear (RRS 13 then 11) and to give mark-room (RRS 18.3(b)), but Y doesn't luff up, but begins to fall away to leeward in B's dirty air.  No rule broken.

@4 Y is no longer fetching the mark. The conditions of RRS 18.3 first sentence no longer apply, therefore RRS 18.3 no longer operates to disapply RRS 18.2, boats are overlapped in the zone, RRS 18.2 applies.

Boats were not overlapped when the first of them (B) reached the zone, so RRS 18.2(a)(2) applies and the boat that has not reached the zone (Y) is required to give B mark-room.

Because she is in dirty air and is separating to leeward from B, Y is giving B mark-room.  No rule broken.

Any advance on that?
Created: 24-Nov-30 00:36
Bob Scott
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
You seem to be assuming from 18.3 that the "another boat" is also in the zone?? "rule 18.2 does not apply between her and another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark" ??

Also, I was thinking originally more about a scenario where "another boat" was fetching the mark outside the zone but had to change course thru no action of the port tack boat (wind shift) like this:

image.png 708 KB
Created: 24-Nov-30 19:06
P
John Allan
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • National Race Officer
  • National Judge
0
Bob, Are we having difficulty with the meaning of fetching? 

Fetching
A boat is fetching a mark when she is in a position to pass to windward of it and leave it on the required side without changing tack.

In your latest diagram B appear  to be fetching the mark throughout.  Unless you're saying there was something big quick lift between @4 and @5.

If the tacking boat is in the zone, and the other boat is not, but is fetching on starboard, then RRS 18.3 first sentence switches off RRS 18.2,  but RRS 18.3 second sentence an (a) and (b) are not yet engaged, nor do they need to be because with one boat inside and the other outside they are very unlikely to be close enough together for (a) or (b) to actually operate.
Created: 24-Dec-01 02:15
Bob Scott
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
John, thanks for all your input and insight.  I was trying to imply in my drawing that Blue was not fetching at 3&4, due to no action of Yellow.  But since I drew it with Blue making the mark at 5, I guess she was still fetching the entire drawing.  And at 5 Yellow owed her mark room?
Created: 24-Dec-01 15:51
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
-1
I agree with most of John's first message, except for the last para. If both boats on port & both tack in zone & remain overlapped, 18.3 is highly unlikely to switch on, as B as inside boat is going to start the tack & achieve close hauled before or at same time as outside boat Y. It is unlikely that Y will be on stbd fetching the mark before B. So inside boat B will retain mark room 18.2(c)
WM both on port - tack in zone.jpg 103 KB
Created: 25-Jan-20 13:01
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
Niko, once a boat passes head to wind from port tack, she is on stbd tack, but for 18.3 would not be fetching the mark until close hauled as until then she is not in a position to pass to windward of the mark, she is just preparing to be in a position to do so.
Created: 25-Jan-20 13:08
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Robin re: "is unlikely that Y will be on stbd fetching the mark before B. So inside boat B will retain mark room 18.2(c)"

My head was in the same place when I first worked through the new 18.3, but with a little help (i.e. bonk on the head) from some of my friends, I was able to see that MR is always impossible for either boat if both tack from port to starboard in the zone (at/near the starboard layline). 

Here is the new 18.3 and def: fetching for convenience. 

18.3 Tacking in the Zone
If a boat passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone of a mark to be left to port, rule 18.2 does not apply between her and another boat on starboard tack that is fetching the mark. If the other boat has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, the boat that passed head to wind:
(a)shall not cause the other boat to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact, and
(b)shall give mark-room if the other boat becomes overlapped inside her.

Fetching  A boat is fetching a mark when she is in a position to pass to windward of it and leave it on the required side without changing tack.

On fetching .... as soon as either boat passes HTW, they are on starboard tack and they meet the definition of fetching. [PS: being on a close-hauled course is not a requirement of fetching]. 

There are 3 possibilities ...
  1. Inside passes HTW before outside
  2. Outside passes HTW before inside
  3. They pass HTW exactly at the same time. 

Inside passes HTW before Outside
  1. 18.1(a)(1) turned off 18. 
  2. When Outside passes HTW, 18.3 applies
    1. Inside is already on starboard and is fetching the mark.
  3. 18.1(a) turns 18 back on. 
  4. 18.3 states 18.2 does not apply
  5. Inside didn't enter on starboard, therefore 18.3(b) does not apply
  6. No MR for Inside or Outside

Outside passes HTW before Inside
  1. 18.1(a)(1) turned off 18. 
  2. When Inside passes HTW, 18.3 applies
    1. Outside is already on starboard and is fetching the mark. 
  3. 18.1(a) turns 18 back on. 
  4. 18.3 states 18.2 does not apply
  5. Outside didn't enter on starboard, therefore 18.3(b) does not apply
  6. No MR for Inside or Outside. 

Inside & Outside pass HTW simultaneously
  1. A boat is on the previous tack up to and including the point of HTW (def: Leeward and Windward)
  2. At the moment that the boats pass HTW..
    1. 18.2(b) turns off MR for Inside
    2. From the POV of Outside, when Outside passes HTW, Inside is also passed HTW on starboard and is fetching the mark, so 18.3 applies
    3. From the POV of Inside, when Inside passes HTW, Outside is also passed HTW on starboard and is fetching the mark, so 18.3 applies
  3. 18.3 states 18.2 does not apply
  4. Neither boat entered on starboard, therefore 18.3(b) does not apply
  5. No MR for Inside or Outside. 
Created: 25-Jan-20 14:19
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
1
This example seems counter intuitive. Both Y & B in zone on port, Y outside slows & ducks under B. Even though Y is on stbd & fetching mark before B completes tack, 18.3 has been switched on & 18.2 switched off by B tacking, so Y not entitled to mark room. I cannot see any way that 18.2 would then be switched on, as 18.3 (first part) does not have an off switch once on. Seems a bit unfair on Y who just has to rely on 11
WM B inside tacks above Y in zone.jpg 94.4 KB
.
Created: 25-Jan-20 14:21
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Robin, please see my response to your 1st drawing/comment as my comment covers both of your drawings.  I agree with your conclusions in the 2nd, but not the 1st. -  Ang
Created: 25-Jan-20 14:44
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
When both boats are on port one will have mark room.

This changes when the boat tacks and mark room turns off 18.2.b

What of the inside boat having mark room under 18.2(c)?  M8ke

Created: 25-Jan-20 15:33
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Mike ... I walked through it in this comment
Created: 25-Jan-20 15:41
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
Thanks Angelo for your very detailed analysis. I have to disagree with you on my first diagram. The Def Fetching states "A boat is fetching a mark when she is in a position to pass to windward of it and" etc. I would argue that a boat that is in the process of tacking onto stbd so as to pass a mark is not "in a position" to pass the mark as she is not able to set a course for it until she is close hauled. Even if she tacked right on top of the mark she would not be able to pass it until close hauled. 
Created: 25-Jan-20 20:29
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Robin re: "I would argue that a boat that is in the process of tacking onto stbd so as to pass a mark is not "in a position" to pass the mark as she is not able to set a course for it until she is close hauled."

Yep .. that's definitely where we disagree.  Let me give you my best shot on it how I see it.  I'm repasting your 1st drawing for our convenience.

Fetching  A boat is fetching a mark when she is in a position to pass to windward of it and leave it on the required side without changing tack.

My first general response is that there is nothing in the def: fetching that requires a certain point of sail in its determination.. and beyond that nothing as specific as a "close-hauled" requirement.

Further, let's look at position #4.. Here are my Q/A/C.

Question: From position #4, after they each pass HTW, can both Yellow and Blue pass to windward of the mark and leave it on the required side without changing tack?
Answer: Yes, at position #4, both Yellow and Blue are clearly on or above the starboard lay-line, which generally indicates the path a boat can sail toward the mark on a close-hauled course to pass to windward of the mark.
Conclusion: Therefore, at position #4, both Blue and Yellow are "in a position to" do so and thus are both fetching the mark..



Created: 25-Jan-20 21:13
Peter Fanta
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • National Judge
  • Club Race Officer
0
Here is some more data for the discussion concerning Rule 18.  

The World Sailing Team Race Call Book is out and Call E2 has changed slightly but the implications have not. Note, that the Call in this case, while clarified out for  Team Racing, represents an authoritative interpretation of the RRS Rule 18.  You can find Call E2 under the World Sailing Racing Rules of Sailing, Team Race Call Book 2025.

Call E2 is as follows:  

1. Two boats are approaching a windward mark to be left to starboard and are overlapped as they enter the zone. 

2. The inside windward boat is on layline. 

3. The inside windward boat tacks from starboard to port to round the mark.  

4. The call determines that, if the inside windward boat makes as seamanlike maneuver to round, the outside boat must give them room. See the exact wording in the World Sailing Team Race Call Book

5. This includes room to tack.  

The implications affect how we view mark-room, primarily room “to round” in part (b).  “To round” is not defined in the RRS however in the Oxford English Languages “to round” means “pass and go around (something) so as to move on in a changed direction.”

To change direction and “round” you will likely tack (skip gybing around the windward mark for now). The windward mark is not a passing mark such as a start or finish mark.  It is a rounding mark, therefore it bounds the legs of the course and you must round it to Sail the Course. 

By definition a mark bounds the ends of the leg of the course (see last sentence of the definition of Sail the Course).  Since a windward rounding is the end of the windward leg, are the boats still on a beat to windward or are they in the process of starting the next leg in a rounding and therefore 18.1 (a) (1) is not applicable since the maneuver is a rounding and not a beat to windward which would (by standard definition) require more tacking?  

Now apply the same logic to a port rounding at a windward mark.  If the maneuver is “to round” and the mark bounds the end of the leg (no more beat to windward), and 18.2 (c) applies, does that change the discussion that has been going on since the new RRS were published?

For full disclosure, the TR Call Book came out the day after College Team Race Nationals completed. Call E2 was provided as an advanced copy but was not used so we have yet to see it in action. 

Enjoy!


Created: 25-May-04 19:53
P
Niko Kotsatos
Nationality: Australia
Certifications:
  • Judge In Training
0
the TR Call Book came out the day after College Team Race Nationals completed
I'm sorry to take the discussion sideways, but how is it OK that we are doing this to our umpires and sailors? College sailors just don't get a call book for every fourth national championship? (Not to mention the entire preceding spring season.) This stuff should be buttoned up before we ask sailors to race under new rules.
Created: 25-May-05 12:17
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
Noted ws are very slow this year.
I am awaiting some new rule books but as the case book has not yet been finalised they cannot be printed.
Created: 25-May-05 12:26
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
We seem to have conflicts. We were told the rrs 18 changes would not change the game. We then got at least a page of game changes but ws pared these back. No guidance on leave it astern in room.
Delete if overlapped you can tack now bending " round the mark" to say there is room to tack, bringing back the equivalent of proper course rounding that was rejected. 
When the inside boat tacks is 18 not off boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward.
We seem to be bending the rules, but we need to follow the interpretations.
No wonder competitors are confused, as the logic lies in old ws policies not the rule books.
Created: 25-May-05 12:38
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
Having read submissions, followed by rule changes over several years, the impression I get is that the previous practice of there being several in house changes to proposed rules before they are published has gone. Instead the rules seem to be produced on the basis that the changes mean what the submission intends, whereas anyone who writes NOR/SI knows very well that this is more often than not incorrect. The most useful rule book was 2017-2020 before they started making changeable rules into definitions. Anyway - end of rant. 

The definition from the Oxford English Dictionary quoted by Peter Fanta does help dispel part of the issue."to move on in a changed direction". The essence of rounding or passing a mark is for the purpose of "continuing to sail the course". I argue that a boat has to round or pass the mark for the purpose of continuing to sail the course. How that is done depends on various factors at the time but must be on the basis of good seamanship, so may or may not include a need to tack. 

I also argue that the word "and" in the definition Mark-Room has to be interpreted to the effect that the words "to leave it astern" follow and are dependent upon the words "to round or pass the mark on the required side". 

I regard the arguments in the various threads here on rule 18 that a boat  can "pass" a rounding mark & therefore loses mark room as soon as the mark is astern as disingenuous. If the mark has to be rounded to enable the boat to continue to sail the course (i.e onto the next leg), then she remains entitled to mark room until she has rounded it and only then does she leave it astern. It is also disingenuous to operate on the basis that the words "round" & "pass" in this context do not rely on normal sailing usage of the terms "rounding mark" & "passing mark"

However, I regard the definition as inseparable from the over-riding purpose of sailing the course, therefore if a boat delays rounding a rounding mark for any reason, then if that delay is unreasonable for the purpose of continuing to sail the course on the basis of good seamanship, then she loses the right to mark-room, even though other rules will continue to apply.
Created: 25-May-05 19:45
P
Angelo Guarino
Forum Moderator
Nationality: United States
Certifications:
  • Regional Judge
0
Robin, along the lines with (and I think in agreement with) your train of thought in your post above, I have a series of comments (somewhere in another thread) where I argue that a boat has not "rounded" a mark until her "taught-string" touches it on the proper side (assuming the string is being continuously drawn taught as she sails). 

I think this is maybe another way of saying and visualizing what your point is above? - Ang
Created: 25-May-07 10:43
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
If you sail past the mark i do not believe your right ro mark room ceases.
You are outside the corridor so may not be exonerated. But if you luff toward head to wind and make contact with the leeward boat as you are now sailing to the mark you are exonerated again.
Your protection stops if you leave the zone or when you later tack.
Created: 25-May-07 11:10
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
I don't think that can be right Michael. It is open to a boat to continue sailing beyond a rounding mark without rounding it, in circumstances where good seamanship would dictate that she ought to round. This could arise in a needle match between 2 boats. In that case she could retain rights, say as leeward boat, but can it really be said that she retains her right to mark room. Even 18.1(a)(2) refers to "proper course", so as the purpose of mark room is to enable a boat to have rights to round or pass a mark, which must surely be for the purpose of continuing to sail the course, then if it is reasonable for a Jury/PC to conclude that she has sailed outside the bounds of what is reasonable to achieve the purpose, then it should be found that she has declined the right to mark room & therefore loses those rights. This may also arise where a boat has difficulty lowering a spinnaker & so continues on a line & fails to round, thereby obstructing other boats.
Created: 25-May-08 09:51
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
This is the real problem here.
The confusing way we need to sail to the mark when the proper course is to sail close to it.
Proper course in ws rules is becoming toxic. It is used instead of the course to the next mark for reasons I an mat sure of. Above my pay grade.
I see no relevance here to proper course.
To me if you do not tack or leave the zone you do not loose your right to markroom.
Clearly if you sail outside the corridor you loose the mark room protections. Exoneration.
As soon as you step back into your mark room, by heading back to the mark if your proper course is to sail close to it, your rights return. This would generally be at a windward mark you had passed when on starboard to be rounded to starboard.
This is so difficult with the new pass the mark.
In team racing at mark 3 you round to port with a reach to mark 4.
The basic tactics for a starboard row with an opponent to windward is to luff them to edge of the zone but remaining in it gybe and proceed to mark 4 having let a team mate in.
The old problem was you if below the mark could not luff to shut the windward boat out at the mark as you had no right to sail to the mark as your proper course now from the leeward position was not to sail close to it. Clearly you can luff but 16.1 applies as you are outside the zone.
This interpretation of a vital team racing rule mean that you have to round or pass before the later leave it astern.
Also see team race call e12 which goes against my reasoning and says 18 if off.

Team race call e2 is similar.
If I fully accept the calls the how does the mark 3 reap work, has it been terminated.

I based my beliefs of call or Mr. Will have to return to this.

It has all become very confusing.
Created: 25-May-08 13:17
P
Michael Butterfield
Certifications:
  • International Judge
  • International Umpire
  • International Race Officer
0
Robin
This is the basis of the comments I made in my post.   Match Racing Call E6

I do appreciate mark room is different, and we have a, past the mark, and on the next leg of the course, test for the end of mark room. 

The logic though was, if you have not rounded you have not left the mark astern.

So as you have not tacked, or left the zone you still have mark room. 

You may at that moment be outside your corridor, but as soon as you turn toward it, your mark room  protections return as herein the call. 
I find trying to coax out what ws will say next difficult. 
I believe the words in the rule are a mess, but i have to try to predict what a ws focussed q and a or an appeal would say. 
Created: 25-May-10 12:29
Robin Meads
Certifications:
  • National Judge
0
I understand what you say Michael. It looks as if a boat, having acquired mark-room, can behave in a completely unseamanlike manner, subject to other rules, yet retain mark-room !
Created: 25-May-10 15:31
[You must be signed in to add a comment]
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more